Early Bird Smoothie

Cover photoToday I’m going to be showing you all one of my go-to smoothie recipes to get me through early morning and give me a tasty little energy boost! Unfortunately, 6 a.m. mornings don’t agree too well with night owls like me, and they have us wishing we were one of those perky early birds that somehow don’t mind rising before the sun!

Too many of us rely on caffeine for our dose of energy in the morning, without knowing about some other healthier, natural options to kick start the morning. In first semester of University, I was 100% one of those people. However, after realizing some of the things coffee was doing to my body (like being anxious and jittery), I started experimenting with energy-boosting green smoothies for my early mornings.

The great thing about smoothies is that you can throw a bunch of stuff in the blender for a couple minutes, throw it in a tumbler, and walk out the door. It
super simple and almost always tastes great. This particular smoothie recipe is probably one of my favourites.ingredientsWhat you’ll need:

-1 1/2 cups of chopped kale
-2 kiwis (peeled and chopped)
-1 cup of freshly squeezed orange juice
-1 1/2 cup of chopped pineapple
-4-5 ice cubes

Throw all of your ingredients into the blender, making sure all of your fruits and veggies are chopped up well, and you’re good to go! I usually drink this smoothie on the go, and am completely refreshed and awake for my day.smoothieThe health benefits of this smoothie are amazing, and I like to use organic fruits and veggies just to make sure I’m putting the best ingredients in my body. The kale will provide you with vitamins A,C and K, and give you a nice energy boost. The fruits will give you an energy boost from the citrus flavours, as well as provide your body with essential vitamins. Plus, it’s really yummy!

Of course, coffee is not bad every once in a while, but is not the best for your body on an every day basis (at least in my experience), and trust me, I love my coffee! Replacing your daily dose of caffeine with a healthy green smoothie is great to nourish your body with vitamins and nutrients, and can actually give you a longer-lasting and more effective energy boost than a regular cup of coffee.

Hope this simple smoothie recipe will make your mornings a little bit easier, not to mention tastier!

What do you think?

